Anonymous asked:

Why don't you just work as a professional VM translator at Shiravune or something? If you're good at something, don't do it for free.

I don't think they would want me. There are two key problems. One is that I haven't had the time to focus on anything other than reading comprehension for a decade, so all my other skills (writing, listening comprehension, etc.) have atrophied. Another is that I don't have a great knowledge of Japanese pop culture, which I hear is something that certain localization companies may quiz you on when you apply for a job. I think I can do a decent job within fan translation parameters, but actually turning pro would necessitate me going back to constant studying to try and regain some of the skills I've lost.

Comments